The National Plant Germplasm Coordinating Committee (NPGCC) promotes a stronger, more efficient, more widely-recognized and better utilized National Plant Germplasm System (NPGS). Its goals are to facilitate the coordination of ARS, NIFA and SAES planning and assessment mechanisms for NPGS policy, organization, operations and support; promote awareness and understanding of the NPGS across ARS, NIFA, and SAES and, more broadly, to the scientific community; and serve as a vehicle for improving communications and discussions about issues impacting the NPGS with ARS, SAES, and NIFA. It assesses, develops and recommends to the SAES, ARS and NIFA strategies for improved coordination of NPGS activities; develops and recommends a process for improved communication of the value of the NPGS; initiates a strategic planning effort for the NPGS to better define and communicate the vision, mission and short- and long-term goals; and evaluates the current funding models for the NPGS and reports findings to the SAES directors, ARS and NIFA.

Upcoming Events

No Upcoming Meetings


NameCommittee PositionAffiliationEmail
Bob StougaardChairSAAESDbob.stougaard@uga.edu
Carolyn Lawrence-DillMemberNCRAtriffid@iastate.edu
Scot HulbertMemberWAAESDscot_hulbert@wsu.edu
Olga Padilla-ZakourMemberNERAoip1@cornell.edu
Melanie HarrisonMemberUSDA ARSmelanie.harrison@usda.gov
Gayle VolkMemberUSDA ARSgayle.volk@usda.gov
Larry ChandlerMemberUSDA ARSlarry.chandler@usda.gov
Ann StapletonMemberNIFAann.stapleton@usda.gov
David BaltenspergerLiaisonNAPBdbaltensperger@tamu.edu
Sarah Wilbanks LiaisonAOSCAswilbanks@aosca.org
Ksenija GasicLiaisonPBCCkgasic@clemson.edu
Tim CupkaLiaisonASTAtim.cupka@agreliantgenetics.com
Bret HessExecutive Vice-ChairWAAESDbhess@unr.edu