2023 ARD Leadership Award Recipient

Chandra Reddy

Dean of the College of Agriculture and Director of Research /Administrator of Extension, Tennessee State University

Chandra Reddy provides leadership as Dean of the College of Agriculture and Director of Research /Administrator of Extension at Tennessee State University, Nashville, TN.

Dr. Reddy currently serves on the Boards of Agriculture Future of America (AFA), 1890 Universities Foundation Board, Emerging Technologies Life Sciences Advisory Board, Ag Launch Technical Advisory Board and Tennessee State Fair and Exposition Commission. In the recent past, he served on the Boards of National Agricultural Research, Extension, Education, and Economics Advisory Board and LEAD 21/APLU. He is the immediate past Chair of the Association of Research Directors (ARD) of 1890 land-grant universities.

Dr. Reddy is an internationally recognized research scholar and an institution building expert. He received several prestigious honors and awards including the USDA/NIFA Partnership Award in 2013; a Joint Resolution from the Tennessee State Legislature in 2012 for his outstanding contributions to Tennessee Agriculture and the George Washington Carver Agricultural Excellence Award sponsored by the USAID in 2008 for his impactful international research and institution building efforts.

Dr. Reddy focused much of his research work on soil quality, crop production and environmental sustainability issues. He is currently directing the Center of Excellence on Natural Resources, Energy and Environment. Dr. Reddy has published his research findings in several prestigious journals, books, and conference proceedings, with current totals including 266 publications and numerous externally funded research projects. He has taught both undergraduate and graduate-level courses and directed the thesis/dissertation research of several M.S. and Ph.D. degree candidates. He is a Fellow of the American Society of Agronomy and a Fellow of the Soil Science Society of America.

Dr. Reddy earned B.S. and M.S degrees from India and a Ph.D. degree in Agronomy from the University of Florida.


(return to 2023 Leadership Awards page)