Meeting Notes: National IPM Coordinating Committee October 21, 2020 - Virtual Meeting Chair: Danesha Seth Carley Notetaker and Chair-elect: Jim Farrar

**Context:** The National Integrated Pest Management (IPM) Coordinating Committee is a committee of the Extension Committee on Organization and Policy (ECOP) and the Experiment Station Committee on Organization and Policy (ESCOP) and shall function as a subcommittee of the ESCOP Science and Technology Committee. ESCOP is a committee of the Experiment Station Section of the Board on Agriculture Assembly of the Association of Public Land-grant Universities (APLU). For more information, and to view reports and presentations from annual meetings, please visit: <a href="http://escop.info/committee/national-integrated-pest-management-coordinating-committee-nipmcc/">http://escop.info/committee/national-integrated-pest-management-coordinating-committee-nipmcc/</a>

NIPMCC BaseCamp - https://3.basecamp.com/3209262/projects/5247593

# Introductions

Round robin introductions of the participants in the meeting. (See participant list in Appendix)

# 2019 Meeting Recap

Ann Hazelrigg provided a review of the 2019 NIPMCC meeting as a context for today's meeting. (<u>https://3.basecamp.com/3209262/buckets/5247593/uploads/3132637736</u>)

# **NIFA Updates**

Parag Chitnis provided an update on USDA-NIFA

- Transformative move to Kansas City
- Successfully awarded 2020 grants
- Importance of stakeholder feedback on continual improvement (Project CAFÉ Collaboratively Achieving Functional Excellence)
- Encourage engagement and communication with NIFA

Vijay Nandula provided an update on NIFA grant programs relevant to IPM (<u>https://nifa.usda.gov/upcoming-rfa-calendar</u>)

# **Regional IPM Center Updates**

(https://3.basecamp.com/3209262/buckets/5247593/vaults/3132500547) Northeast IPM Center – Deb Grantham

- Center's COVID response
- Evaluation of IPM adoption
- Spotted lanternfly response
- IPM in affordable housing / StopPests
- Grants program

Southern IPM Center – Joe LaForest

- Digital resources for emerging and invasive pests
- Pesticide resistance management efforts
- Communication and stakeholder engagement
- <u>https://docs.google.com/document/d/1enm51mLaNqZ3n9t32EaJIqh0UZCMxq585OQpu</u> <u>YW0PGU/edit#</u>

North Central IPM Center – Lynnae Jess

- Resources for emerging and invasive pests
- Pesticide resistance management efforts
- Workgroups for stakeholder engagement

Western IPM Center – Matt Baur

- Changes to grant portfolio
- Communicating IPM successes
- EPA decisions rely on Center comments

Four **regional technical committees** (NEERA 1604, SERA 3, NCERA 222, and WERA 1017) written reports available in BaseCamp

(https://3.basecamp.com/3209262/buckets/5247593/vaults/3128083925)

#### AFRI Tactical Sciences Update – Marty Draper

• Integration of applied science programs to protect plant and animal agriculture from pests, contaminants, and disasters

#### Farming and Food Narrative Project – Michael Rozyne

- Collaboration of IPM Voice, RedTomato, and Frameworks Institute
- Addressing communication challenge through social science of mental frames

#### Certification of Pesticide Applicators in Time of COVID - Tom Smith

- Addressing the challenges states and territories are facing due to COVID19 shutdown of in-person testing and recertification training
- Certification and Training Assessment Group (Michigan State U. and EPA)

#### **Breakout Sessions on Whitepapers**

https://3.basecamp.com/3209262/buckets/5247593/vaults/3128080933

- Invasive Pests (Emerging and Invasive Pests)
- Pesticide Resistance Management
- Communication and Stakeholder Engagement

Gathered suggestions for improving each. Need 5-6 page version and derivative 2-page legislative leave-behind version for each.

#### **Committee Business**

• Daren Mueller elected chair-elect

• Danesha Seth Carley concluded her term and handed chairship to Jim Farrar

### ESCOP Wrap-up – Bret Hess

• ESCOP Science and Technology Committee considering Science Breakthroughs to Advance Food and Agriculture Research by 2030, USDA Agriculture Innovation Agenda, and USDA Science Blueprint: A roadmap for USDA science from 2020 to 2025 as context for future work. NIPMCC should consider framing whitepapers in this context.

#### **ECOP Wrap-up** – Robin Shepard

- When communicating with your Extension Directors remember that they care about: general context of issue, what capacity Extension currently has, what capacity Extension needs to address issue, and potential partnerships
- Big drivers for Extension Directors are currently COVID and DEI in the context of budget realities in states and counties
- Some fundamental changes driven by COVID may not return to pre-COVID status

	Participant List			
<u>First Name</u>	Last Name	Institution	<u>Representing</u>	<u>Executive</u> <u>Committee</u>
		University of Maryland Eastern	1890	
Anugrah	Shaw	Shore	Institutions	
Dean	Herzfeld	NPSEC	AAPSE	
Kerry	Richards	NPSEC	AAPSE	
Tom	Smith	NPSEC	AAPSE	
Robin	Shepard	ECOP	ECOP	ECOP Regional Director
Erin	Cadwalader	ESA	ESA	
Bret	Hess	ESCOP	ESCOP	ESCOP Regional Director
Michael	Rozyne	Red Tomato	IPM Voice	
Jerry	Baron	IR-4	IR-4	
Patrick	Beauzay	North Dakota State University	NCERA222	
Martin	Draper	Kansas State University	NCERA222	ESCOP
James	Jasinski	The Ohio State University	NCERA222	
Lee	Miller	University of Missouri	NCERA222	
Cliff	Sadof	Purdue University	NCERA222	
Robert	Wright	University of Nebraska-Lincoln	NCERA222	
Laura	lles	NCIPMC	NCIPMC	
Lynnae	Jess	NCIPMC	NCIPMC	
Daren	Mueller	Iowa State University	NCIPMC	
Jacqueline	Pohl	NCIPMC	NCIPMC	
Alejandro	Calixto	Cornell	NEERA1604	
Kelly	Hamby	University of Maryland	NEERA1604	
Ann	Hazelrigg	University of Vermont	NEERA1604	Past Chair
Alyssa	Koehler	University of Delaware	NEERA1604	
Elizabeth	Lamb	Cornell	NEERA1604	
Dion	Lerman	Pennsylvania State University	NEERA1604	
David	Owens	University of Delaware	NEERA1604	
Ed	Rajotte	Pennsylvania State University	NEERA1604	
Hilary	Sandler	University of Massachusetts	NEERA1604	

# APPENDIX 1. Participant List

Nancy	Cusumano	NEIPMC	NEIPMC	
				Regional
Deb	Grantham	NEIPMC	NEIPMC	Centers
David	Lane	NEIPMC	NEIPMC	
Lindsay	Haines	NRCS	NRCS	
David	Kerns	Texas A&M	SERA3	
Boyd	Padgett	Louisiana State University	SERA3	
Tom	Royer	Oklahoma State University	SERA3	
Ashfaq	Sial	University of Georgia	SERA3	
Scott	Stewart	University of Tennessee	SERA3	
Alexander	Belskis	SIPMC	SIPMC	
Robin	Boudwin	SIPMC	SIPMC	
Joseph	LaForest	University of Georgia	SIPMC	
Danesha	Seth Carley	North Carolina State University	SIPMC	Chair
Kayla	Watson	SIPMC	SIPMC	
Caydee	Savinelli	Syngenta	Syngenta	
Trey	Price	Louisiana State University	unknown	
Parag	Chitnis	USDA-NIFA	USDA-NIFA	
Michael	Fitzner	USDA-NIFA	USDA-NIFA	
Kathryn	Kimble-Day	USDA-NIFA	USDA-NIFA	
	Kistner-			
Erica	Thomas	USDA-NIFA	USDA-NIFA	
Vijay	Nandula	USDA-NIFA	USDA-NIFA	
Bob	NOWIERSKI	USDA-NIFA	USDA-NIFA	
Anastasia	Bodnar	USDA-OPMP	USDA-OPMP	
Julie	Chao	USDA-OPMP	USDA-OPMP	
Teung	Chin	USDA-OPMP	USDA-OPMP	
Julius	Fajardo	USDA-OPMP	USDA-OPMP	
Clayton	Myers	USDA-OPMP	USDA-OPMP	
Diane	Alston	Utah State University	WERA1017	
Mary	Burrows	Montana State University	WERA1017	
Peter	Ellsworth	University of Arizona	WERA1017	
Jim	Farrar	University of California	WERA1017	Chair-elect
Al	Fournier	University of Arizona	WERA1017	
Paul	Jepson	Oregon State University	WERA1017	
Katie	Murray	Oregon State University	WERA1017	
Mair	Murray	Utah State University	WERA1017	

Doug	Walsh	Washington State University	WERA1017
Matt	Baur	WIPMC	WIPMC
Steve	Elliott	WIPMC	WIPMC
Lee	Van Wychen	WSSA	WSSA