Experiment Station Section Annual Meeting

Grand Traverse Resort, Traverse City, MI Monday, September 22, 2008

ACTION ITEMS

Agenda Item	Actions Taken
Pre- Meeting Budget Session	ESCOP-ESS Statement on the Implementation of the Agriculture and Food Research Initiative letter to CSREES - Approved
1.0	 ESS Business Meeting – Call to order, Bruce McPheron, Chair Approval of the Agenda - Approved Approval of the ESS Meeting Minutes on Sept. 17, 2007 held in Philadelphia, PA posted at: http://escop.ncsu.edu/meetattach/297_2007ESSmin.htm - Approved
	NSRP Review Committee Actions:
6.0	NRSP-1: • \$346,829 FY2009 budget recommendation - Approved (100%)
	 NRSP-3: Recommendation to NOT renew - Approved (81%). One-year extension granted with a \$50,000 budget. Project will terminate 9/30/2009.
	NRSP-4: • \$481,182 FY2009 budget recommendation - Approved (94%) • Recommendation of extension to 9/30/2010 - Approved (94%)
	NRSP-5: Recommendation of project extension to 9/30/2009 - Approved (98%) \$145,678 FY2009 budget recommendation - Approved (96%)
	NRSP-6: • Approved FY'09 budget of \$150,000
	NRSP-7: • \$325,000 FY2009 budget (minus any federal FY09 funds made available) recommendation - Approved (85%)
	NRSP-8: • Recommendation to renew - Approved (79%) • \$500,000 FY2009 budget recommendation - Approved (73%)

	NRSP_temp101: • Recommendation to NOT approve - Approved (83%)
11.0	Approved all amendments to the ESS Rules of Operations
12.0	Approved the Nomination Committee recommendation for Dr. Clarence Watson to be the 2009 Chair-Elect for ESCOP.
13.0	Approved all resolutions

Minutes

	Agenda	
Time	Item	Topic and Presenter
2:15		ESS Business Meeting – Call to order, Bruce McPheron, Chair
	1.0	Approval of the Agenda
	1.0	 Approval of the ESS Meeting Minutes on Sept. 17, 2007 held in Philadelphia, PA
		posted at: http://escop.ncsu.edu/meetattach/297_2007ESSmin.htm
2:20	2.0	<u>Interim Actions</u> – Bruce McPheron
		ESS Multi-State Research Award Description
		ESS 2008 Multi-State Research Award Recipient
		NASULGC Update – Ian Maw
		The NASIU CC name change will be released within the payt favy months
		The NASULGC name change will be released within the next few months.
		The first annual research excellence award to NC-229 will be presented the morning of
		Sunday, November 9, 2008 at the fall NASULGC meeting in Chicago.
2:25	3.0	There are director vacancies on the Policy Board; please submit ballots for these positions.
		Clean-up and changes to the NASULGC rules of operation will be completed by 10/10/2008.
		The New Deans and Directors session to be held 12/8 to 12/10/2008.
		The New Dealts and Directors session to be field 12/8 to 12/10/2006.
		The Policy Board has discussed some changes in the assessment/payment policy to
		NASULGC, including a possible increase.
2:35	4.0	CSREES Update – Ralph Otto for Colien Hefferan
2:45	5.0	ARS Update – Larry Chandler
2:55	6.0	NRSP Review Committee Report – Craig Nessler (Powerpoint Presentation)
3:20		Break – Location: Pre-function Space
3:40		NRSP Review Committee Report (continued)
		Location: Michigan C & D
3:55	7.0	BAA-Policy Board of Directors Update – Eric Young
4:10	8.0	Farm Bill Implementation Advisory Committee Report – Steve Pueppke

4:30	9.0	Advocacy Update – Tim Sanders, Cornerstone Governmental Affairs
4:40	10.0	System Communication and Marketing Implementation Committee Report – Jerry Arkin/Arlen Leholm
5:00	11.0	Proposed Amendments to the ESS Rules of Operation – Bruce McPheron
5:15	12.0	Nominations Committee Report – Ron Pardini A motion was made to approve the Nomination Committee recommendation for Dr. Clarence Watson to be the 2008 Chair-Elect for ESCOP. The motion was seconded and passed.
5:20	13.0	Resolutions Committee Report – Mike Vayda A motion was made to approve the 2008 Resolutions. The motion was seconded and passed.
5:25	14.0	Final Remarks, Announcements, Changing of the Guard – Bruce McPheron
5:30		Adjourn – Steve Pueppke
		Written Reports Only: A. <u>Budget and Legislative Committee</u> – David Boethel/Mike Harrington B. Communication and Marketing Committee – Jerry Arkin/Arlen Leholm C. <u>National Plant Germplasm Coordinating Committee</u> – Lee Sommers/Eric Young D. <u>NIMSS Oversight Committee Report</u> – Eric Young E. <u>Science and Technology Committee</u> – Greg Bohach/Dan Rossi F. <u>Social Sciences Sub-Committee</u> – Cornelia Flora G. IPM Strategies Sub-Committee – Frank Zalom H. Extension Liaison Report – Elbert Dickey I. CARET Liaison Report – Abbott Lee